Uncategorized

Jackie Hosking

Me at 5yrs (who I write my poetry for)

As I seem to have run out of poets to profile at the moment, I thought I’d profile myself.

.

If you are a children’s poet and you’d like see yourself up here, please do get in contact jackiehosking [at] bigpond dot com

.


Okay here goes…

.

What poets did you enjoy reading as a child?

.

A.A. Milne was and still is a definite favourite. Like Seuss, his rhythm and rhyme is effortless. ‘When We Were Very Young’ & ‘Now We Are Six’ gave me hours of reading pleasure.

.

Do you remember the first poem that you ever wrote? How old were you? Can you share it with us?

.

The first poem that I ever remember writing was called ‘Consequence’. I was seventeen. At the time, I remember writing the poem, more as a challenge than anything else. You’ll see that I combined opposites to create a kind of warped world. I was inspired to write this poem after reading the play ‘Waiting for Godot’ by Samuel Beckett.

Here it is…

.

Consequence

A Christmas tree stood on the beach

Within my grasp but out of reach

And so I asked a maiden fair

If she could see it standing there

Her loud reply I could not hear

Although she said it very clear

And so I watched her disappear

Into the night

Into the day

Then I looked to hell to say

Dear God the moon is boiling hot

It chills my bones and that is not

The only thing I have to say

And so I turned and walked away

.

A year or two has passed by me

And slipped behind the Christmas tree

Standing here all charred and black

Quite in my way but off the track

That I have chosen to explore

But it is short and what it more

It’s far too long

For I can see

The end of it ahead of me

And so I’ll sit while I decide

If it’s too long or short or wide

Or whether I’ll just go and hide

Yes that seems quite fine to me

And so I rested by the tree

.

I rested for a while or so

How long exactly I don’t know

I sat around and passed the time

For that is all I have that’s mine

Time is just a passing phase

That can be passed in many ways

It can be served and wasted too

But that decision’s

Up to you

If that’s what you choose to do

But here I sit and here I’ll stay

Because it seems the safer way

I’d rather sit upon the fence

Than take the risk

Of consequence

.

Do you write mostly in rhyme or free verse? Do you know why?

.

Most definitely in rhyme. I’ve tried free verse but don’t seem to be able to separate the form from prose. To me, and this is entirely my own opinion, free verse is prose with lots more white space. My problem is that I don’t seem to be able to understand when to hit the return button. Writing in rhyme is more structured, with more rules. I feel comfortable here. The rules of course, can be broken or bent but they are there to give you a guideline. Personally this suits me and my kind of writing.

.

Are your poems best performed aloud or read quietly to oneself? Can you provide an example?

.

Probably both. I write quiet poems and loud poems but both would be suited to performance depending on the occasion. A few years ago Triple D Books published some poems of mine in their End of Year Reciter – Celebrate. Here’s one of them…

.

Hot Summer Nights

.

We’re having a barbecue dinner

With hamburgers, sausage and steak

It’s late getting dark

So we’ve gone to the park

With the playground right next to the lake

.

It’s great on these long summer evenings

With the smoke and the sun in our eyes

Dinner with friends

The fun never ends

Except for the millions of flies

.

The barbecue acts like a beacon

Just begging the flies to join in

We’re flipping and flapping

And swiping and slapping

As they fly to our food from the bin

.

As the sun starts to glow like a pumkin

We escape to the lake in our cozzies

The flies stay away

So again we can play

Except for the millions of mozzies!

.

Who first published your poetry?

.

The School Magazine published my first children’s poem. It was called ‘If I Were a Giant’ and it was illustrated by Kim Gamble and as you can see – it was and still is… GORGEOUS!

.

”]”]

.

Where else have your poems been published?

Click here and you will see.

.

Anthologies are often places for poets to seek publication. How would you suggest a new poet find out about upcoming anthologies?

.

This is a tricky one. From my experience word of mouth seems to be the way it goes. So here are my suggestions..

  1. Network your bottoms off. Off course you all subscribe to PASS IT ON so I won’t even mention that.
  2. Facebook and Twitter are good places to hang out.
  3. Google anthologies and find out who edited them.
  4. Send a sample of your best work to anthologists for them to keep on file.
  5. Get your work out there where it can be read. Anthologists don’t tend to visit bottom drawers.

.

Do you have a website/blog/facebook etc – where we can find out more about you?

.

All of the above.

  1. You’re on my website and my blog at the moment.
  2. http://jackiehoskingpoetry.wordpress.com/ is a new blog designed to offer writing tips for rhymers. It’s quite new so content is rather sparse at the moment. Eventually this will replace http://www.versatilityrhymeandrhythm.blogspot.com/
  3. Facebook

.

Thanks everyone. And like I said before, if you are a children’s poet and you’d like to be profiled – please get in touch.

Cheers,

Jackie

2 thoughts on “Jackie Hosking

Leave a Reply

